CIT - The Center for Innovative Technology

CRCF Subject Matter Experts

Subject matter experts (SMEs) perform the second stage of the CRCF proposal review process and are an essential part of the evaluation process: evaluating projects' technical and commercial merits. More than 300 SMEs across a broad array of domains and from within and outside the Commonwealth have offered to support the CRCF program since its inception. Their expertise, which can often span more than one discrete industry sector, includes a multitude of focus areas under advanced manufacturing, biosciences and medical technologies, communications, cybersecurity, energy, environment, IT / data analytics, modeling & simulation, nuclear physics, transportation, and unmanned systems. For the purposes of the information that follows, association with a single industry has been identified. The professionals who serve as CRCF SMEs also represent a broad array of organizations, including from industry, higher education, federal and state government, nonprofit research organizations, and the venture capital community.

Subject matter experts engaged in supporting the CRCF program include:

Advanced Manufacturing

Paul Bolesta, Project Manager – GENEDGE
Bill Donohue, President – GENEDGE
Matthieu Finot, Winemaker/ Production Manager – King Family Vineyards
Donald Griffin, Assistant Professor – University of Virginia
Marty Kaszubowski, Executive Director, Center for Enterprise Innovation –
Old Dominion University
Rob Kelly, Professor – University of Virginia
Emily Pelton, Winemaker
Murty S. Polavarapu, Consultant
Leonard R. Rockett, Ph.D., President – Technology Metrics
Dan Stilwell, Professor – Virginia Tech
Dean Young, Engagement Manager – GENEDGE


Brian Kent, Consultant
Robert J. Stratton III, Principal
Igor Volovich, Chief Strategist


Ali Butt, Professor – Virginia Tech
Brad Douglas, Vice President, Engineering – American Wood Council
Michael Duncan, Consultant
Less Goudarzi, CEO – OnLocation, Inc.
Sandeep Kumar, Associate Professor – Old Dominion University
Rajesh Lakhiani, CEO – Athena Power, Inc.
Reenst Lesemann, CEO – Columbia Power Technologies
Eric Loth, Professor – University of Virginia
Dave McCarthy, Executive Director – Potential Energy DC
Samuel A. Morton III, Associate Professor – James Madison University
John Noonan, Argonne National Laboratory (Retired)

Information Technology

Pamela Arya, VP, Government Programs
Sven Brueckner, CTO
Wouter Deconinck, Assistant Professor – William & Mary
Noah Goodall, Research Scientist – Virginia Transportation Research Council
Jahan K. Jewayni, Wealth Management Advisor
Louis McDonald, Director of Technology – Fauquier County Public Schools
Diane Rosemary Murphy, Professor – Marymount University
Daniel Reininger, CEO – Semandex Networks
Nektaria Tryfona, Director, DataLab; Director, Educational Initiatives – George Mason University, College of Science

Life Sciences

Ali Andalibi, Associate Dean for Research – George Mason University
Robert Balcerzak, CEO – Allotropic Tech
Sheryl Baldwin, Executive Director / President – Jade Research of Virginia
Silvina Bocca, Professor – Eastern Virginia Medical School
Samy El-Shall, Professor and Chair – Virginia Commonwealth University
Gregory Evanylo, Professor – Virginia Tech, School of Plant and Environmental Sciences
Steven Ferguson, Special Advisor
Peter G. Goldschmidt, President – World Development Group, Inc.
Michael Grosso, Dentist
Jeffrey Hausfeld MD, MBA, Chairman and Founder – Society of Physician Entrepreneurs
Richard Helm, Associate Professor – Virginia Tech
John A. Hossack, Professor – University of Virginia
Honglin Jiang, Professor – Virginia Tech
Shree Koushik, Managing Partner – BDRA Consulting LLC
Patric Lundberg, Associate Professor – Eastern Virginia Medical School
Jeremiah Malerich, Program Director, Chemistry – SRI International
David Mu, Professor – Eastern Virginia Medical School
Biswarup Mukhopadhyay, Professor, Biochemistry – Virginia Tech
Jerry L. Nadler, Vice Dean of Research; Chair, Department of Medicine – Eastern Virginia Medical School
Aakrosh Ratan, Assistant Professor – University of Virginia
John H Rossmeisl, Jr., Professor, Neurosurgery – Virginia Tech
Patrick Simms, President – Industrial BioProcessing, LLC
David Taylor-Fishwick, Professor
Onur Unal, Manager – MIPS/Mtech University of Maryland
Jeff Walenta, Technology Transfer Coordinator – USDA Agricultural Research Service
Dayanjan S Wijesinghe, Assistant Professor – Virginia Commonwealth University, School of Pharmacy
Tom Woteki, Professor of Practice, Statistics; Director, Data Analytics and Applied Statistics Master's Program – Virginia Tech
Kenneth J. Wynne, Commonwealth Professor, Chemical Engineering – Virginia Commonwealth University
Hu Yang, Professor – Virginia Commonwealth University


Modeling & Simulation

Lance Sherry, Associate Professor / Director – George Mason University
Ewan Smith, Senior Structural Engineer – Arup
John Sokolowski, Associate Professor – Old Dominion University


Jim Silverstrim, Senior Technologist – Innovative Wireless Technologies, Inc.

Unmanned Systems

Christine Caccamise, Systems Engineer – Xtine Enterprises
John Coggin, Chief Engineer – Virginia Tech Mid-Atlantic Aviation Partnership
Andrea Facchinetti, Vice President of Product Development
Nadim F. Haddad, Technical Director @ Engineering Fellow (previously employed at IBM and BAE Systems)
John Lambert, Senior Vice President – Nexutech, LLC
Matt Twiggs, Vice President, Technology & Innovation
Additionally, SME support has come from CGI Federal, Luna Innovations, Inc., Rev.Net Technologies, and Virginia Commonwealth University, among others.

CIT - The Center for Innovative Technology 2214 Rock Hill Road, Suite 600, Herndon, VA 20170-4228

Phone: (703) 689-3000 | Fax: (703) 689-3041